2016 Autumn Internationals

November 10th, 2016

November can only mean one thing…. well, on the rugby calendar anyway! Of course, it’s rugby season again, and it’s time for the 2016 Autumn Internationals.

The Autumn Internationals happen every year, when teams from the European Six Nations Championships compete against teams from the Southern Hemisphere’s The Rugby Championships.

The games kicked off last weekend, and sadly saw Wales suffer a big defeat to the Australian team. But, never mind, there’s always the next game, and we know the Welsh team will pick themselves up and come back fighting for Saturday’s game against Argentina.

And to celebrate the Wales v Argentina game in Cardiff on Saturday, here are a few facts about the beautiful country of Argentina that you might not know……

  • Argentina has close links with Wales. In the mid 19th century, settlers from Wales travelled to the southern regions of Argentina to set up a Welsh colony there. It still exists today, known as Y Wladfa.
  • Argentina shares borders with Chile, Brazil, Bolivia, Paraguay and Uruguay.
  • It is the eighth largest country in the world, with a mainland area of over 1 million square miles.
  • There are 23 provinces in Argentina.
  • It is a Spanish speaking country. It was colonised by Spain in the 16th century.
  • Argentina has the second largest economy in South America.
  • Argentina gets it’s name from the Latin word argentum, which means “silver”- early settlers believed that the country was full of silver!
  • In 2001, Argentina had 5 presidents in 10 days!
  • Argentina’s Civil War for Independence began in 1810 and lasted until 1880.
  • Argentina is home to the world’s widest avenue – the 9th of July Avenue in Buenos Aires. It has 14 lanes of traffic!
  • Che Guevara, the main political figure of the Cuban Revolution, was born in Argentina.
  • Argentina was the first country in Latin America to legalise same-sex marriage in 2010
  • The Iguassu Falls, which sits on the border between Argentina and Brazil is one of the 7 Wonders of the World.